We are proud to announce the 2019 AECT Learner Engagement Division (LED) award winners! Without the service of outstanding individuals, the LED would not be as successful and active as it is. Each year, the LED awards individuals and groups within the academic and corporate communities who have contributed innovative ideas and materials to the advancement of learner engagement. Recipients are awarded at AECT’s annual convention.


Best Conference Proposal

Description: This award is given to recognize the LED conference proposal that exemplifies the pinnacle of best practices or research regarding learner engagement. This award can be given to a single group or an individual’s proposal.

Winner: Dr. Susan Stansberry and the NASA NSPACE Oklahoma State PhD Cohort for their presentation “Engaging Your Students in Inter-disciplinary Design Challenges through NASA NSPACE Activities”

Outstanding Digital Learning Artifact

Description: This award recognizes the most engaging and/or innovative elearning modules, lessons, video, or other artifacts. The artifact should be an original creation used to engage learners in a unique and inventive way.

Winner: Sean Hickey and Cara North, College of Education and Human Ecology at The Ohio State University for Multiple Choice Mayhem

Outstanding Contribution

Description: This award recognizes an individual or individuals who have invested invaluable time and/or resources to further the development and reach of the Learner Engagement Division.

Winner: Scott Gibbons, University of Cincinnati, and Matt Yauk, The Ohio State University, for their work in developing and launching the AECT Learner Engagement Division

Excellence in Innovation

Description: This award recognizes an individual or group who have furthered the field of learner engagement in new and creative ways. The recipient of this award serves as an exemplary model for other researchers and educators working in the area of learner engagement.

Winner: Dr. Jan L. Plass, NYU CREATE, New York University and Dr. Bruce D. Homer, NYE CREATE, The Graduate Center, City University of New York

Excellence in Presentation

Description: This award recognizes an exceptional presentation (ex. conference presentation, webinar) in the field of learner engagement. The presentation highlights best practices or research regarding an important aspect of learner engagement.

Winner: Dr. Clark Quinn, Quinnovation for his webinar “Engaging Learning – Integrating Education and Experience”

Outstanding Publication

Description: This award recognizes a print or digital publication (ex. article, book, blog, special journal issue) with a copyright date within the past year that describes important research or practice in the field of learner engagement.

Winner: None selected for 2019

You must be logged in to post a comment.